West Berkshire Council

Committee details

Health and Wellbeing Board

Logo for Health and Wellbeing Board

Purpose of committee

The Health and Social Care Act 2012 established Health and Wellbeing Boards as a forum where key leaders from the health and care system work together to improve the health and wellbeing of their local population and reduce health inequalities.


The West Berkshire Health and Wellbeing Board is committed to improving the health and wellbeing of the population across the district, through the development of improved and integrated health and social care services. This includes overseeing the preparation of the Joint Strategic Needs Assessment (JSNA) with the Berkshire West Clinical Commissioning Group and approving the Joint Health and Wellbeing Strategy.


Board Members

The Board has representatives from: West Berkshire Council; Berkshire West Clinical Commissioning Group; Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust; Berkshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust; Thames Valley Police; Royal Berkshire Fire and Rescue Service; Sovereign Housing; Healthwatch; the voluntary sector; and the culture sector (See ‘Membership’ below.)


Getting involved

The Health and Wellbeing Board meets in public five times a year. The meetings usually take place at the Council Offices, Market Street, Newbury, RG14 5LD.


Members of the public living or working in West Berkshire can submit questions to the Health and Wellbeing Board (see Asking a question at a meeting). Petitions relating to Health and Wellbeing matters can also be submitted to the Board – see Petitions.


Contact:  Democratic Services Team


Further information links:

Health and Social Care Act 2012


  • Zahid Aziz   
  • Raghuv Bhasin   
  • Councillor Dominic Boeck   
  • Councillor Graham Bridgman   
  • Adrian Brunskill  (Substitute) 
  • Pete Campbell  (Substitute) 
  • Shairoz Claridge   
  • Paul Coe  (Substitute) 
  • Councillor Lynne Doherty   
  • Mike Fereday  (Substitute) 
  • Lindsey Finch  (Substitute) 
  • Matthew Hensby   
  • Paul Illman   
  • Dr Abid Irfan   
  • Jessica Jhundoo Evans   
  • Councillor Rick Jones  (Substitute) 
  • Councillor Steve Masters   
  • Sam Mortimore  (Substitute) 
  • Gail Muirhead  (Substitute) 
  • Sean Murphy   
  • Meradin Peachey   
  • Matthew Pearce   
  • April Peberdy  (Substitute) 
  • Garry Poulson   
  • Jo Reeves  (Substitute) 
  • Susanna Sales  (Secretary) 
  • Andrew Sharp   
  • Andy Sharp   
  • Gillian Steele  (Secretary) 
  • Reva Stewart   
  • Councillor Joanne Stewart   
  • Katie Summers   
  • Karen Margaret Swaffield  (Substitute) 
  • Councillor Martha Vickers   

Contact information

Support officer: Gordon Oliver.

Postal address:
Strategic Support
Council Offices
Market Street
RG14 5LD

Phone: (01635) 519486

Email: gordon.oliver1@westberks.gov.uk

Web site: http://www.westberks.gov.uk